top of page

Showcase Your Jewellery- Tips

Packing for your dream vacation and wondering what jewellery you want to take?

Jewellery is an essential part of fashion and you want to take it on vacation with you. I have had my ups and downs with taking jewellery with me. What do I take? Will they be secure? What if I lose them? It took some of the enjoyment of the upcoming vacation.

How many of you have lost a part of a set on vacation? I lost so many and when I went to ask the only answers were negative. I then had the solution- I would make my own fun, customised costume jewellery to take on vacation with me. Turns out that they looked just as good in the office, at parties and in fact every event that I went to.

Beads are the best vacation jewellery

Another headache is how to pack your jewellery so that they arrive in tip-top condition. One of the best ways of lowering the weight of your baggage is to take fun costume jewellery that would go with any outfit.

Here are a few tips-

1. Pack pieces that would compliment any outfit without being too garish. Make sure they are not attracting unwanted attention, but brings out your personality.

2. Leave your sentimental and valuable jewellery at home. They may tug at your heartstrings but weigh up the pros and cons of misplacing them on your trip. Accidents do happen.

3. Always keep them with you when travelling. Pack them in your carry-on or personal baggage using either a jewellery roll or Ziploc bag. This saves you losing them in transit.

4.Take a photo and make a list of the pieces you are taking, especially the valuable ones. It makes it easier if you have to claim.

5. Do not leave them lying around your hotel room. Place them in a pouch in your room safe or hotel safe in the lobby. Make sure you are the only one who knows the combination. I know this is obvious, but sometimes we forget in the excitement!

6. Jewellery gets tangled! Slit a drinking straw at the top and bottom and attach necklaces to each one; Pierce earrings through an index card, paper plate or button to stop them from getting lost.

7. Take a soft cloth with you to clean your jewellery especially after swimming.

Finally, take what you are actually wearing. Diamonds and gems- probably not! Beads and pearls- definitely. Remember less is more.

 

What I Would Take

I leave all my fine, valuable and sentimental jewellery at home except for my wedding, engagement and eternity rings which is on my finger at all times during my vacation. Why?

1. I like to make a fashion statement with my costume jewellery.

2. Beads and pearls whether clunky or not are easier to carry and do not get tangled.

3. Peace of mind.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page